I’m delighted to announce the winners of the 2016 Race Awards. All finalists were nominated by public vote during December 2016, and the winners were chosen by public vote in early January 2017. I believe that the races below (both winners and finalists) are representative of some of the best races in the country, and if you are looking at races to enter in 2017, then this is a good place to start.

Marathon of the Year

Winner:         SSE Airtricity Dublin City Marathon

2017 Date:     29th October

Website:         www.sseairtricitydublinmarathon.ie

Finalists (in alphabetical order):

  1. Cork City Marathon: website
  2. Clonakilty Marathon: website
  3. Dingle Marathon: website
  4. Dublin City Marathon: website
  5. Waterford Viking Marathon: website

Ultra Marathon of the Year

Winner:       Connemarathon Ultra Marathon

2017 Date:   23rd April

Website:      www.connemarathon.com

Finalists (in alphabetical order):

  1. Art O’Neill Challenge: website
  2. Connemarathon Ultra: website
  3. Donadea 50k: website
  4. Longford Ultra: website
  5. Portumna Forest Ultra: website

Half Marathon of the Year

Winner:        Dingle Half Marathon

2017 Date:    2nd September

Website:       www.dinglemarathon.ie

Finalists (in alphabetical order):

  1. Clonmel (Boston Scientific) Half Marathon: website
  2. Dingle Half Marathon: website
  3. RocknRoll Half Marathon, Dublin: website
  4. Tullamore Half Marathon (Quinlan Cup): website
  5. Waterford AC Half Marathon: website

10 Mile of the Year

Winner:        Ballycotton 10 Mile

2017 Date:    12th March

Website:       www.ballycottonrunning.com/ 

Finalists (in alphabetical order):

  1. Ballycotton 10 mile: website
  2. Dungarvan (John Treacy) 10 mile: website
  3. Frank Duffy (Marathon series) 10 mile: website
  4. Roscommon Harriers 10 mile: website
  5. Trim AC 10 mile: website

10K of the Year

Winner:       Dunshaughlin 10K

2017 Date:   June 24th

Website:      www.dunshaughlinac.com/

Finalists (in alphabetical order):

  1. Boyne 10K: website
  2. Dunshaughlin 10K: website
  3. Eamon Moloney 10K, Ennis: website
  4. Naas Town 10K: website
  5. Thomas Kent, Castlelyons 10K: website

Short Distance race of the Year

Winner:         Raheny Shamrocks 5 mile

2017 Date:     29th January

Website:        http://rahenyshamrock.ie/

Finalists (in alphabetical order):

  1. Anne Valley 5 mile: website
  2. Ballintotis 4 mile: website
  3. JJ Reddy, Danesfort 5k: website
  4. Raheny Shamrocks 5 mile: website
  5. St Cocas, Kilcock 5K: website

Adventure Race of the Year

Winner:        Dingle Adventure Race

2017 Date:    10th June

Website:       www.dingleadventurerace.com/

Finalists (in alphabetical order):

  1. Dingle Adventure Race: website
  2. Gaelforce West: website
  3. Killarney Adventure Race (Quest): website
  4. Reign of Terror, Kilkenny: website
  5. Sea2Summit: website

Congratulations to all the winners, and finalists. Feel free to get in touch to get the awards logo if you want to use on your website or promotional material. This page will remain live if you want to link back to it.

Voter Competition

The winner of the pair of Asics GT2000 Plasma Guard Runners is:

Noel Hogan

(will send email soon about getting prize and confirm it’s the correct person)