I’m delighted to announce the winners of the 2018 Race Awards. All finalists were nominated by public vote during December 2018, and the winners were chosen by public vote in early January 2019. I believe that the races below (both winners and finalists) are representative of some of the best races in the country, and if you are looking at races to enter in 2019, then this is a good place to start. This is the list of the best races of the year.

Marathon of the Year

Winner:         SSE Airtricity Dublin City Marathon

  • Irish Examiner Cork City Marathon
  • SSE Airtricity Walled City Marathon
  • SSE Airtricity Dublin City Marathon
  • Monaghan Phoenix Marathon
  • RunClon Clonakilty Marathon

Half Marathon of the Year

Winner:        Dingle Half Marathon

  • Charleville Half Marathon
  • Dingle Half Marathon
  • Waterside Half Marathon
  • Waterford AC Half Marathon
  • JJ Reddy Danesfort Half Marathon

Ultra Marathon of the Year

Winner:       Kerry Way Ultra

  • The Quadrathon Challenge
  • Portumna Forest Marathon
  • Kerry Way Ultra
  • Tralee Marathon Club Ultra
  • Causeway Coast

10 Mile of the Year

Winner:        John Treacy, Dungarvan 10 Mile

  • Derry 10 Mile
  • Mallow AC 10Mile
  • RosHarriers AC 10 Mile Road Race
  • Fergals 10 Miler
  • John Treacy, Dungarvan 10 Mile

10K of the Year

Winner:       East Cork Harbour Marathon 10K

  • Eamon Moloney 10K
  • Bweeng  Trail Blazers, Mallow 10K
  • St Nicholas AC, Thomas Kent 10K
  • East Cork Harbour Marathon 10K
  • JJ Reddy Danesfort Run 10K

Short Distance race of the Year

Winner:         Trim AC, Braveheart Run 5K

  • Trim AC, Braveheart Run 5K
  • Derry Reach Running Club 5K
  • Tullamore Harriers 5K
  • Togher AC 5K
  • Ballintotis 4 Mile

Adventure Race of the Year

Winner:        Dingle Adventure Race

  • Wild Atlantic Adventure Race (Waar)
  • Quest Glendalough
  • Bantry Bay Adventure Race
  • Dingle Adventure Race
  • Quest Killarney

Obstacle Course of the Year

Winner:        Hell and Back

  • d’Hillbillies Mud Run
  • Spartan Race Ireland
  • Banna Beast Challenge
  • Blood Sweat and Tears
  • Hell and Back

Virtual Race of the Year

Winner:        Back to School 100K

  • Back to School 100K
  • The Mile Marker
  • Dark Hedges Winter Challenge

New Event of the Year

Winner:        Alanna Russell Memorial 6K

  • Border Half Marathon
  • Rathoath AC Half Marathon
  • Alanna Russell Memorial 6K
  • Run Kilkee
  • St Cocas 10 from 10 (10 Mile)

International Event of the Year

Winner:        Boston Marathon

  • Virgin Money London Marathon
  • BMW Berlin Marathon
  • Boston Marathon
  • Asics Greater Manchester Marathon
  • Bank of America Chicago Marathon

Race Series of the Year

Winner:        Run Clare Race Series

  • Dublin Race Series
  • Galway 5K Series
  • Kia Race Series
  • Offaly Road Race Series
  • Run Clare Series

Medal of the Year

Winner:        Clonakilty Waterfront Marathon

  • Dublin Marathon
  • Dingle Marathon
  • East Cork Harbour Marathon
  • Clonakilty Waterfront Marathon
  • Charleville Half Marathon

T-Shirt of the Year

Winner:        Dingle Half Marathon

  • Trim 10 Mile
  • Dingle Half Marathon
  • Clonakilty Road Runners 10 Mile
  • Ballyroan 10 Mile
  • East Cork Harbour Marathon

Editors Choice Event of the Year

Winner:        Killarney Half Marathon

  • Irish 3/4 Marathon
  • Killarney Half Marathon
  • Terenure 5 Mile
  • Dublin Marathon

Congratulations to all the winners, and finalists. Feel free to get in touch to get the awards logo if you want to use on your website or promotional material. This page will remain live if you want to link back to it.