KBC Dublin Marathon 2019

27 Oct 2019 @ 8:45 AM - 27 Oct 2019 @ 1:00 PM Dublin Marathon 01 623 2250 office@dublinmarathon.ie http://kbcdublinmarathon.ie/

Registration Fee


Event description

The 40th #KBCDublinMarathon will take place on Sunday 27th October 2019.

The start of the Dublin Marathon in 1980 is due mainly to the vision of Noel Carroll and his ability to persuade the BHAA to take on his idea. The first race had a total of 1,420 finishers from an entry of 2,100. The first winner was Dick Hooper in a time of 2:16:14 and the ladies were led home by Carey May who ran a world class 2:42:11; she was the first of 40 lady finishers in the inaugural event. Second man home in 1980 was Neil Cusack who was to return in 1981 to post a winning time of 2:13:59 just 20 slower than his Boston win in ’74.

1982 is in the history books for another reason with Jerry Kiernan winning in a time of 2:13:45 – a time that was only surpassed in 2004.

In 1985, our ladies course record went to Julie Gates in 2:41:24 which remained the top until Moira O’Neill’s time of 2:37:06 in 1988. 5,410 crossed the finish line in 1985.

In 1988 we celebrated Dublin’s Millennium with an entry again of 8,700. John Griffen recorded the first of his two successive victories.

Just over 3,000 runners finished in 1989. Liz Bullen (twin sister of John Treacy) finished 2 minutes down on Moria O’Neill.

CDL came on board to sponsor the event in 1990. In 1991 the race doubled as the Olympic trail for Barcelona with the men’s title heading north for the for the first time when Tommy Hughes tipped Jerry Kiernan and John Griffen to the post.

In 1993, Golden Pages acted as the Main Sponsor. Our Olympic Silver medals, John Treacy led a home double with Cathy Shum as they finished in front of 2,617 others. Cathy also took the honours in the last year of Golden Pages sponsorship when she won again in 1996.

In 1997 we had a new sponsor with the association of 98fm.

In 1999, we had our new ladies course record of 2:34:24 when Ester Kiplagat had almost 6 minutes to spare over Carol Galea of Malta. In 2000 another one of our Olympic silver medallists, Sonia O’Sullivan, won in Dublin.

In 2000 our entries rose by 44% to a high of 8,900. The US and Canada accounted for 3,579 (43%) of the total entries. By now we had entries coming in from over 40 countries, which is a large increase on 28 in 1997.

2001 saw a new chapter in the life of the marathon being opened as the Dublin Marathon joined an elite band of marathons by being part of the adidas marathon series.

This sponsorship confirmed Dublin as one of the major Marathons worldwide. adidas remained title sponsor until 2007 until Life Style Sports came on board in 2008 for a joint sponsorship with the sports brand until 2010.

With the numbers continuing to grow on a yearly basis, the National Lottery became title sponsor for the 2011 event. Unfortunately the 2012 event took place without a sponsor but in 2013 SSE Airtricity took on this role under a three year partnership.

In 2015, the Dublin Marathon continued to go from strength to strength with a record number of 15,215 people signed up for the event. Following the success of the 2015 event, the decision was made to move the Dublin Marathon to a Sunday for the first time in the history of the event in order to continue to attract international runners to Dublin

The 38th event surpassed course records by selling out 4 months in advance of the official closing date and by hitting 20,000 participants – making the Dublin Marathon the 5th largest marathon in Europe.